Dial 9-1-1 dial from any phone
An emergency is a case of imminent threat to life or property    
Dial UCPD Emergency direct from a cell phone on or near campus
(510) 642-3333
direct to UCPD dispatch from cell
Use a blue light phone
press red button
dispatch will see phone's location
Learn more about reporting at this page, How to Report Crime


These information sources will be activated    
Emergency Information Line
Emergency Information Website 
Emergency Information Campus Radio Station
KALX FM 90.7 kalx.berkeley.edu
WarnMe Campus Emergency Messaging System 
All persons with a CalNet account will receive alerts in an emergency. Add or change ways you can be contacted at the WarnMe website.
Siren and Announcement, Alerting and Warning System (AWS). Note the siren is tested on the first Wednesday of every month.

Non-Emergency Contact-- Available 24-hours

from business, to general questions, your call will be directed  
1 Sproul Hall Berkeley, California 94720-1199 (510) 642-6760 police@berkeley.edu
send a text to UCPD to report suspicious activity and stay anonymous    
CalTIP Anonymous Text Message Service (510) 664-8477 (4-TIPS) cal@tipnow.com

Office of the Chief

Margo Bennett, Chief of Police (510) 642-1133 bennettm@berkeley.edu
Jennifer Woods, Executive Assistant/Manager (510) 643-7500 jwoods@berkeley.edu


Finance, Budget, HR/Payroll

Kevin Bentz, Budget Manager (510) 643-1954 kgbentz@berkeley.edu

Carmen Williams, Budget & Business Services Manager

(Payables and Receivables)

(510) 642-4303 clwilliams@berkeley.edu
Mindy Mellini, HRC Representative (510) 664-9778 mindymel@berkeley.edu

Operations Division

Alex Yao, Operations Division Captain (510) 643-9597 alexyao@berkeley.edu


Marc DeCoulode, Patrol / Special Events Lieutenant (510) 642-9088 decoulode@berkeley.edu
Patrol Sergeants' Office (510) 642-4832  

Building Watch Officer / SAFETeam Program Coordinator

Sergeant Nicole Sanchez

(510) 642-4832 (#4) nsanchez@berkeley.edu
Special Duties Unit (SDU) (510) 642-9088 decoulode@berkeley.edu

Special Events Office

Special Events (510) 643-0795 ucpdspecialevents@berkeley.edu

Special Operations


Criminal Investigation Bureau (CIB)

John Suezaki, Lieutenant (510) 642-1296 jsuezaki@berkeley.edu
Andrew Tucker, Sergeant (510) 664-9687 atucker@berkeley.edu
Jonathan Caires, Detective/Investigator (510) 642-0482 jcaires@berkeley.edu
Jack Kelly, Detective/Warrant Officer (510) 642-3184 jackkelly@berkeley.edu

Threat Management Unit (TMU)

Brendan Tinney, Detective (510) 642-3658 btinney@berkeley.edu
Pete Odyniec, Detective (510) 642-1606 odyniec@berkeley.edu
Samantha Gross, Detective (510) 642-4909  sgross@berkeley.edu

Security Patrol Officer (SPO) Program

Oscar Lopez, Security Patrol Supervisor (Campus) (510) 642-4530 olopez118@berkeley.edu
Mayra Rios, Security Patrol Supervisor (Campus) (510) 642-9162 mrios0119@berkeley.edu
Rhoderick Broughton, Security Patrol Supervisor (UCOP) (510) 987-9700 rhoderick.broughton@ucop.edu

Administration Division

Lee Harris, Captain, Administration (510) 642-0799 l_harris@berkeley.edu

Administration Unit

Joey Williams, Lieutenant
(Complaints, Internal Affairs, Payroll, Order & Policy)
(510) 642-1134 JoeyW@berkeley.edu
Sabrina Reich, Administrative Sergeant (510) 642-1157 sreich@berkeley.edu
Complaint Investigation Process Citizen Complaint Process, How do I make a complaint?

Services & Homeland Security Unit

Stephen Stoll, Manager, Services & Homeland Security (510) 642-1258 sfs@berkeley.edu
Marc DeCoulode, Homeland Security Lieutenant  (510) 642-9088 decoulode@berkeley.edu


Tyrone Morrison, Records and Communications Supervisor (510) 642-9110 tyronem@berkeley.edu
Regina Kiser, Lead Dispatcher (510) 642-6760 reginamk@berkeley.edu
Police Records - 8 AM to 5 PM, M–F (510) 642-6760




Information Technology

Chris Jansen, Information Systems (510) 642-9135 cjansen@berkeley.edu
Ken Snyder, Information Systems (510) 643-6284 kmsnyder@berkeley.edu

Facilities & Property

Dennis Traille (Facilities Specialist) (510) 643-6581 dennist@berkeley.edu
Troy Cheli (Property Specialist) (510) 643-8646 tcheli@berkeley.edu

Community Outreach Unit


Wade MacAdam, Crime Prevention Officer

(Safety Programs, Construction & Design, e911)

(510) 642-3722 wmacadam@berkeley.edu

Crime Prevention Unit (CPU)

Stephen Stoll, Crime Prevention Supervisor (510) 642-1258


<Vacant>, Security Specialist, Access Control (510) 643-9375 ucpd_aac@berkeley.edu
Sparky Carranza, Security Specialist, Video (510) 642-9101 ucpd_video@berkeley.edu
Arnold Widodo, Security Specialist, Alarms (510) 642-0469 ucpd_alarm@berkeley.edu
Maria Garcia-Perez, Security Specialist, Keys (510) 643-5816 ucpdlockandkeyrequest@berkeley.edu 
 John Salazar, CPU IT  (510) 644-7020 jsalazar@berkeley.edu

Residential Security Program

Billy Brashear, Residential Security Sergeant (510) 642-8561 brashear@berkeley.edu

Night Safety/Community Service Officer (CSO) Program

Wade MacAdam, CSO Program Director (510) 642-3722 wmacadam@berkeley.edu
BearWALK Night Safety Service (510) 642-9255 2-WALK, bearwalk.berkeley.edu
BearWALK Questions (during the day) (510) 642-3722 webpage with BearWALK info
Night Safety Services Information Page   webpage with info for campus Night Safety Services, including shuttles, and BearWALK
Bike Licensing Information  (510) 642-3722 webpage with Bike Info

Communications and Outreach

Claudia Phillips-Archer, Clery Act Compliance, Survivor Resource Specialist (510) 642-9113 ccp@berkeley.edu

UCPD Fax Numbers

Office of the Chief / Administration (510) 642-6434  
Records and Services (510) 643-4655  
Crime Prevention (510) 643-2186  
Field Operations (510) 643-8224

Other Campus Resources


Survivor Resources On Campus

Survivor Support Website   http://survivorsupport.berkeley.edu/
University Health Services, Crisis Counseling for students (855) 817-5667  

Other Complaint Procedure Resources On Campus

Campus Police Review Board (510) 642-7518 web
ASUC Student Advocate's Office (510) 642-6912 web

Ombuds Offices

Ombuds Office for Faculty (510) 642-4226
Ombuds Office for Staff & Non-Senate Academics (510) 642-7823
Ombuds Office for Students  (510) 642-5754

City of Berkeley Police Department

General Business Line  (510) 981-5900  
Emergency dial from a cell phone (510) 981-5911  
Bicycle Resources   web
Community Services Division   web
Crime Prevention Programs   web

Other Local Law Enforcement 

Alameda County Sheriff's Department (510) 667-7721  
Albany Police Department (510) 525-7300  
BART Police Department (510) 464-7000  
El Cerrito Police Department  (510) 237-3233  
Emeryville Police Department  (510) 596-3700  
Oakland Police Department (510) 238-3481
Richmond Police Department  (510) 620-6901  
San Francisco Police Department  (415) 553-0123  


contact and hours

In an EMERGENCY, from a cell phone on or near campus, dial 510 642-3333
If you have any questions, please contact UCPD:
Email the police
Visit us at 1 Sproul Hall (basement), near Telegraph Avenue & Bancroft Way
Office Hours:  Monday – Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Station Hours: 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Mail us at University of California Police Department, Berkeley, Records Unit
1 Sproul Hall, MC #1199, Berkeley, CA 94720-1199
Phone: 510 642-6760, 24 hours a day
Fax: 510 643-4655 
Records Unit Services Offered: Livescan Fingerprinting is done by appointment only, Tuesday — Friday; Lost & Found Services are available Monday — Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Court Order Bookings are done by by appointment only Monday — Friday; Records Requests are also available.